Kathleen MacMahon.jpg
Kathleen MacMahon

Kathleen MacMahon is the author of three best-selling novels. Her first novel, This is How it Ends, was shortlisted for the Kerry Group Irish Book of the Year award, as well as two Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards. Her latest, Nothing But Blue Sky, was longlisted for the 2021 Women's Prize for Fiction. She writes and reviews books for the Irish Times, the Sunday Times, the Business Post and the Guardian, among others. She also writes short stories and publishes them where she can. 

Sinéad Crowley.jpg
Sinead Crowley 

Journalist by day, novelist by night, Sinéad Crowley is arts and media correspondent with RTÉ News and in 2020 she was seconded to coverage of the Covid 19 pandemic. As an author, she has published three crime novels as well as a number of short stories and is currently finishing her fourth book, the historical mystery The Belladonna Maze. It will be published by Head of Zeus next year. 

Patrick Freyne  

Patrick Freyne spent most of his twenties trying to be a rock star before turning to the much more stable and secure world of journalism. He has had short stories and essays published in The Dublin Review, Banshee and Winter Papers and is a features writer at the Irish Times. His book of essays, OK, Let’s Do Your Stupid Idea, was published by Penguin Sandycove in 2020. It was nominated for an Irish Book Award, longlisted for the Rathbones Prize and shortlisted for the Dalkey Prize.

Patrick Freyne.jpg
Sarah Gilmartin

Sarah Gilmartin is a critic who reviews fiction for the Irish Times. She is co-editor of Stinging Fly Stories (2018) and has an MFA from UCD. She won Best Playwright at the inaugural Short + Sweet Dublin Festival. Her stories have been published in The Dublin Review, New Irish Writing and shortlisted for the RTE Francis MacManus Award. Her story The Wife won the 2020 Máirtín Crawford Award at Belfast Book Festival. Her debut novel Dinner Party: A Tragedy is published by Pushkin Press. 

Sarah Gilmartin.jpg
Neil Hegarty.jpg
Neil Hegarty 

Neil Hegarty grew up in Derry. His novels include The Jewel, published in 2019; and Inch Levels, which was shortlisted for the Kerry Group Novel of the Year award in 2017. Other titles include Frost: That Was the Life That Was, a biography of David Frost; and The Story of Ireland, which accompanies a BBC-RTÉ television history of Ireland. His essays and short fiction have appeared in the Dublin Review, Stinging Fly, Tangerine and elsewhere; and he is a regular literary reviewer for the Irish Times and Dublin Review of Books. 

Rosita Boland photo credit Brenda Fitzsimons_edited.jpg
Rosita Boland

Rosita Boland is a Senior Features Writer with the Irish Times. She won Journalist of the Year at the 2018 NewsBrands Journalism Awards. Her previous essay collection in 2019 Elsewhere; one woman, one rucksack, one lifetime of travel, was shortlisted for the An Post Book Awards non-fiction book of the year. Her second essay collection, Comrades; a lifetime of friendships, is published in September 2021. She is a former Nieman Fellow of the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University. She lives in Dublin.